Graduate Program

Territorial Management and Planning

The Program aims at preparing practitioners and researchers who will contribute to the gradual transformation of territorial planning and management practice that acknowledges the presence of conflict, the complexity of agendas, and the historical heritages of the development patterns. The program seeks to approach territorial problems from a standpoint that favors dialogues among different disciplinary traditions, dialogues with different players of planning and spatial dynamics, and critical and reflective perspectives supported by solid scientific knowledge and ethical commitment.

The faculty is comprised of professors who meet the multidisciplinary thematic demanded by the area approach. Likewise, the graduate program is interested in receiving students from different academic backgrounds and professional experiences, who are interested in acquiring further knowledge in territory planning and management. Hence, the program strives to offer approaches that allow students to build references on different readings of the territory, thus strengthening a reflective and critical perspective on the areas.

Research areas:

Territorial Dynamics;

State, Territory and Public Policy;

Policy and Instruments of Territorial Planning and Management.


Master’s and Doctor’s degree.

Selection Process:

Call for application usually opens in September and October. More information about admission requirements and the application process are available on the program website.

Classes Begin:

Usually in February (depending on the year’s calendar).




Limited availability, depending on case-by-case analysis.




Program Website

Additional information about calls, application and deadlines, please go to the program Website


NameResearch Areas
Arilson Da Silva Favareto
Carolina Moutinho Duque De Pinho
Fernando Rocha Nogueira
Flavia Da Fonseca Feitosa
Francisco De Assis Comaru
Gerardo Alberto Silva
Jeroen Johannes Klink
Katia Canil
Klaus Frey
Leonardo Freire De Mello
Luciana Rodrigues Fagnoni Costa Travassos
Maria De Lourdes Pereira Fonseca
Ricardo De Sousa Moretti
Rosana Denaldi
Sandra Irene Momm Schult
Silvana Maria Zioni
Silvia Helena Facciolla Passarelli
Simone Rodrigues De Freitas
Thiago Fonseca Morello Ramalho Da Silva
Vanessa Elias De Oliveira
Vanessa Lucena Empinotti