Graduate Program

Chemistry – Science and Technology

UFABC offers a program of study leading to the degrees of Master of Science (MS) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Chemistry (Science and Technology).

The Master’s program is designed to be completed in 2 years of full time study and research. After this period the student must present a research dissertation. The PhD degree can be usually obtained after 4 years during which the student will fulfill the formal coursework and develop an original research. At the end, the student must submit an original thesis, which is defended at a final oral examination.

The program welcomes students holding degrees in Science and Technology, Chemistry, Physics, Engineering, Biology, Computer Science and other related fields.

Students interested in joining the program should carefully review the faculty list and respective expertise areas, indicating an advisor to begin their research activities. The selection process includes a written exam.

Research areas:


Structure of Matter;

Transformation Processes.


Master’s and Doctor’s degrees.

Selection Process:

Call for application usually opens in June and September. More information about admission requirements and the application process are available on the program website.

Classes Begin:

Usually in September and February (depending on the year’s calendar).




Limited availability, depending on case-by-case analysis.




Program Website

Additional information about calls, application and deadlines, please go to the program Website


NameResearch Areas
Alexandre Zatkovskis Carvalho
Alexsandre Figueiredo Lago
Alvaro Takeo Omori
Amedea Barozzi Seabra
Anderson Orzari RibeiroPhotodynamic Therapy, Photosensitizers, Nanocarriers
Camilo Andrea Angelucci
Dalmo Mandelli
Diogo Librandi Da Rocha
Fernando Heering Bartoloni
Giselle Cerchiaro
Hueder Paulo Moises De Oliveira
Hugo Barbosa Suffredini
Ivanise Gaubeur
Janaina De Souza GarciaEnergy, Transformation Processes, Structure of Matter, Electrochemistry, Electrocatalysis
Karina Passalacqua Morelli Frin
Luiz Francisco Monteiro Leite Ciscato
Mauricio Domingues Coutinho Neto
Mauro Coelho Dos Santos
Mirela Ines Da Sairre
Paula Homem De MelloComputational chemistry for excitation and transfer of electrons
Rodrigo Luiz Oliveira Rodrigues Cunha
Rodrigo Maghdissian Cordeiro
Vani Xavier De Oliveira Junior
Wagner Alves Carvalho
Wendel Andrade AlvesChemistry of Materials